Archivio rivista
Le Sezioni
Le Info
Compagni di Strada
Leonardo Masi, “Karol Szymanowski’s Religion of Love”, pp. 133-142 [Abstract]
Between the years 1917-1923 Polish composer Karol Szymanowski felt an urge to express his philosophy in some literary work. His most important achievement was the novel Efebos, which is partially lost. The philosophical part of the novel is the chapter called Sympozjon, in which six men discuss love and religion. Even though this chapter may look like a simple apology of a “crazy” and Dionysian homosexuality, Szymanowski seems to reject such point of view with the words of his alter-ego Korab, who suggests the identity of Christ and Dionysus in his later works. The composer’s version of the libretto of King Roger ends with the main character choosing solitary freedom instead of joining a Dionysian rite. Also the sketch for the Tale of the Wandering Juggler and the Seven Stars shows an individualistic attitude, leading to narcissism. The introspective nature of Szymanowski’s quest for his own “religion of love” is shown by plenty of symbols, especially the pearl, the rose and the ladder, which leads the main character of the Tale of Enoch Porfiry into an inner dimension, a state of meditation. The most important symbol are the wings, which after Plato’s metaphor of the Charioteer (Phaedrus), shows how freedom can be achieved only overcoming the primitive passions.
Rivista di culture dei paesi slavi
Registrata presso la Sezione per la Stampa e l'Informazione del Tribunale civile di Roma. N° 286/2003 del 18/06/2003 ISSN 1723-4042
Direttore responsabile: Simona Ragusa
A cura di: Alessandro Catalano e Simone Guagnelli
Comitato scientifico: Giuseppe Dell'Agata, Nicoletta Marcialis, Paolo Nori, Jiří Pelán, Gian Piero Piretto, Stas Savickij
Comitato di redazione: Alessandro Ajres, Alessandro Amenta, Silvia Burini, Alessandro Catalano, Marco Dinelli, Eleonora Gallucci, Simone Guagnelli, Katia Margolis, AlessandroNiero, Laura Piccolo, Marco Sabbatini, Massimo Tria, Andrea Trovesi

© eSamizdat 2003-2011, Alessandro Catalano e Simone Guagnelli